News: Enjoy our Christmas offer 30% off on our latest package Tower Defense Level Kit http://u3d.as/m7h

  • July 23, 2018, 07:07:28 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Sci Fi Level Kit Door Problem  (Read 2429 times)

Offline tony@shatalmic.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Sci Fi Level Kit Door Problem
« on: June 21, 2014, 07:58:19 AM »
I am having trouble with the doors in the Sci Fi level Kit I just bought for $40.

When I open the example projects the doors work fine.

When I put a door in my own project something weird happens. I put in the door kit prefab, the door and the moveable door. I then drag the moveable door onto the door kit.

When I walk up to the door I hear the sound and the parent moveable door object changes position. The problem is that the child to the moveable door doesn't move. If I put a standard cube as a child to the same moveable door the cube does move, but the door mesh and stuff doesn't move. It is really bizzare.

I even tried creating a brand new project and scene and just putting the first person controller, a plane and the 3 door pieces.

How do I fix this? I have no idea what is going on.

Offline r19wilbur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Sci Fi Level Kit Door Problem
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2014, 09:50:43 PM »
I am having this same issue. Did you ever find a fix or solution for this issue?

Offline tony@shatalmic.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Sci Fi Level Kit Door Problem
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2014, 09:54:18 PM »
Never heard back and gave up on it. Probably too late to get my money back. Oh well.

Offline r19wilbur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Sci Fi Level Kit Door Problem
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2014, 09:57:02 PM »
I just emailed the developer and got this reply.

Quote
Hi

Check under the demos level provided, you will see that the flag for the doors need to be : STATIC OFF (careful for light mapper , if you put the door in static=on they don't move but they are taken by the light mapper,  uncheck them to static=off before runtime, i guess it's a pain in the ass to do each time :)

Changing the parent door object to STATIC OFF worked perfectly.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 10:21:01 PM by r19wilbur »

Offline tony@shatalmic.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Sci Fi Level Kit Door Problem
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2014, 10:37:54 PM »
Glad you got a reply from the dev. I never did.

Thanks for the follow up.

Offline Nicolas

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
Re: Sci Fi Level Kit Door Problem
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2014, 11:53:27 PM »
Hi Tony,

I'm really sorry not to have answered.

Nicolas